Motivation Movers

Here’s something fun: need something to get you motivated? Pick an image from a cast of characters out of a book or a movie or a TV show or something that you really enjoy! It doesn’t even have to be physical (although pinning their picture above your work area is encouraged). You can use other things that remind you of the character’s presence, whether it be music associated with that character, or just picturing them in your head. I often play one song over and over when I’m working on a piece that requires my concentration, and the song is the key to keeping my focus, and perpetuating the momentum of my imagination. And not just for my writing.

The other night I was working on my resume and cover letters. On YouTube I found a couple of remixes by PinkiePieSwear for My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic, for my favorite character Fluttershy, as well as one for hard-working Applejack, so I played Applejack’s song over and over, working just as hard as her to perfect my documents and ready them for submission with the company I was looking to work with. Then I listened to Fluttershy again, ‘cos let’s face it, she works hard at what she does too (with lots of TLC!)

And if you’re crazy about Harry Potter, Hermione Granger tends to be pretty persuasive too.

So pick an image, and think about how much you want to impress that image! Just imagine trying to impress Hermione, or Twilight Sparkle. That should get your pencil moving, for whatever you’re doing, whether it’s applying for a job, or trying to make a writing quota. Actually, I have a whole BUNCH of pics from Harry Potter up on the wall where I do a lot of my writing (or at my desk, where I have a Harry Potter calendar), as well as pics from Hunger Games, and a couple from Twilight: Breaking Part 2 (but that’s because I love Lee Pace and Joe Anderson, who are both in it–seriously, Twilight would be SOOO much better if it weren’t for Edward and Bella. Oh yeah, and if vamps didn’t sparkle. But that’s just my opinion.)

And remember this is all in good fun. No need to feel childish. If anything, I think one of the hallmarks of a good writer is one who’s able to entertain and keep in touch with childlike thoughts. Even if they remain only thoughts, and never develop into actions (although I enjoy going that far from time to time, because no matter how old I get, I’d like to always remain young at heart).

Images belong to My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic (Hasbro and the Hub), and Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Warner Brothers), respectively. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Motivation Movers

  1. haha can’t say I’ve ever seen My Little Pony, but apparently that works for a motivator 😉 Well done! That’s something I hadn’t thought of before. There are some favourite novel characters I have, and some authors, I can’t think of any from movies or TV shows. Maybe Batman? Indiana Jones? Hmm. That would be interesting.

    Thanks for the idea, and thanks for sharing!

    • Lol, well, My Little Pony: FIM hasn’t failed yet to boost my spirits. Yeah that would be interesting though, Batman or Indiana (I think for me it would be Batman, but then Indiana’s pretty awesome too…)! Anyway, thanks for reading. 🙂

Leave a Reply

