Cheap and Effective

Need an opinion on your work that isn’t possibly biased by the fact that the reader is your friend, family member, or close neighbor? In other words, want to test the complete stranger market, but don’t have the money to go to a writing conference or genre convention? (What college kid or grad does?) Then search your locale for a writing group near you. When I lived in Vermont, I used to attend one through my church, and it was a great way to get immediate feedback. But make sure that the group is right for you. You can read about how to find the right writing group for you in The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Book Proposals and Query Letters by Marilyn Allen and in Christina Katz’s Get Known Before the Book Deal. But it is cheap and effective.

4 thoughts on “Cheap and Effective

  1. Oh my goodness! an incredible article dude. Thanks Nevertheless I am experiencing difficulty with ur rss . Don?t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone getting an identical rss downside? Anyone who is aware of kindly respond. Thnkx

    • I don’t know of anyone at the moment but I’m sorry the RSS feed isn’t working. For now I would say simply subscribe to the blog to get alerts, and I’ll see what I can do. Looks like something for wordpress.com to figure out.
      Thanks for reading though! 🙂

Leave a Reply

